You are a Sacrament

Is 55:10-11

Thus says the LORD:
Just as from the heavens
the rain and snow come down
and do not return there
till they have watered the earth,
making it fertile and fruitful,
giving seed to the one who sows
and bread to the one who eats,
so shall my word be
that goes forth from my mouth;
my word shall not return to me void,
but shall do my will,
achieving the end for which I sent it.

This was the first reading at today’s Mass, Sunday, July 10, 2011.  I love this proclamation, that God’s word does not return to Him void.  It is as such in the Sacraments where, for example, the words of absolution effect a forgiveness of all of our sins and the words of Consecration cause the bread and wine to become the body and blood of Christ.  “You are a Sacrament” was on my heart during today’s Mass.   Think about God’s act of creation.  He said, “Let there be…” and it came into being.  His word and His love caused there to be something, where there previously was nothing!  Every particle of material, all things seen and unseen of this earth and of all of His creation, is in some way a part of His word that effects what it says.

Further, God enabled us to partake in His act of creation.  When a man and woman come together, this union holds such power that it can cause, with God, another human–endowed with God’s dignity, His inscription on the heart, and in His image–to come into being.  Each of us was created in this manner.  Each of us is a thought of God, each of us is God’s word, that does not return to Him void. And Christ, our Light, is this Word par excellence–though not part of the Father’s creation.

God is the fullness of all that is good.  He doesn’t just love, He is love.  He isn’t just beautiful, He is beauty itself.  He isn’t just merciful, He is mercy.  This is so hard for us to understand.  And, further, what do we do with it?  How do we incorporate this knowledge and experience of God into our daily lives?

For me, it simply means that He must increase; I must decrease.  I need to spend time with the Scriptures and live a deeply Sacramental life.  Then, His divine action–His word–will be able to take place in my life.  Lord, let me follow, and try not to lead.  Let your Word find fertile soil in my heart, and then I know that it will bear good fruit, thirty, or sixty or a hundred fold!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

