This is your sign!

No sign will be given, except the sign of Jonah.

Today’s Gospel: Mark 8:11-13

The Pharisees came forward and began to argue with Jesus,
seeking from him a sign from heaven to test him.

Do you ever argue with Jesus? Do you ever seek signs from Him? Do you ever seek gifts from Him? I know that I do and I have. Usually it’s when I’m scared, or when I really don’t want to do what I know I’m being called to do. Then the Pharisee in me comes forward and begins bargaining, arguing, and yes–seeking a sign. The Lord, generally, does not give me signs, though. I have found that even when He does, I am not satisfied. It is not enough for me to believe. I once asked Him for a sign regarding a very important matter. He did not give it. In fact, when I was at Mass the next morning, when the priest held up the consecrated Host, I heard Him at that moment, and what He said was, “This is your sign.” I was rebuked, but what joy it brought me! I realized this was exactly what He told the Pharisees in the Gospels: no sign will be given except the sign of Jonah. But, I also realized that yes, this was my sign. This, the fact that Christ gave His body and Blood, soul and divinity to me and for me. And that all I need is encompassed within Him. The answer to every prayer, to every longing, the fulfillment of every desire is within His heart. There truly is need of only one thing! And we, in our blindness and misery, we ask for so little. Here I am asking for a sign, when Our Lord wants to give me His very self!

I try to remember this now when I’m tempted to “argue” with Our Lord. Don’t argue, just pray. Don’t worry, just pray. Don’t bargain, just pray. And after I pray, do whatever He tells me. All will be well and is well. This is indeed great news!

+++


Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

